The flatcoat’s fatal flaw

”Sadly, the flatcoat has one serious drawback: cancer. Whenever I meet anyone working flatcoats, I ask them whether they have lost dogs to cancer and invariably the answer is yes. A long-running Cambridge University study found that half of all flatcoats will have contracted cancer by the age of eight, with many dying from the disease.” (Min fetstil)

Jag läser detta efter att jag läst att en flatuppfödare slutar föda upp hundar sen en av hennes valpköpare förlorat sin fem månader gamla valp i cancer. ”…jag blir så in i helvete ledsen.” Hon har fött upp flattar i 25 år. ”…jag vill inte orsaka sådan smärta igen hos någon. Med drygt trettio kullar så är det inte första gången men det blir inte lättare, bara svårare.” Det kan vara dags att göra som den engelske artikelförfattaren föreslår:

”The future for the breed may well lie in an outcross to a labrador, bringing in fresh blood and the chance to eradicate the cancer genes prevalent in most lines. No doubt enthusiasts will greet such a suggestion with horror but which is more important, health or breed purity?”

Valet borde vara enkelt.

2 thoughts on “The flatcoat’s fatal flaw

Kommentera

